Material for Liquid Additive Manufacturing

The materials currently most commonly used in Liquid Additive Manufacturing are Liquid Silicone Rubber (LSR) and polyurethane.

When printing, the infill options of the same material can be varied. This opens up numerous possibilities for adapting the print to the specific applicationand always achieving the best printing result. Depending on the settings, soft, flexible print objects or hard, non-flexible results can be achieved.

From the different variants of silicone rubber to resin-like polyurethane, new opportunities arise that are not possible with any other technology.

Are you interested in a different material? Then get in touch with our application consultants! Simply describe your specific use case to us so that we can check how we can best implement your project.

Liquid Silicone Rubber (LSR)

Liquid Silicone Rubber, for example SILASTIC™ 3D 3335 is a Liquid Silicone Rubber that is thermally cross-linked. It does not contain acrylic hardeners and is not UV-cured. The technical properties of the material for Liquid Additive Manufacturing are almost identical to those of injection molding. The high-viscosity Liquid Silicone Rubber is used in particular for additive components that require a high degree of fineness. The viscosity of the material is 130 – 170 PaS, but it is completely cured after the printing process is completed and can be used immediately. It is suitable for temperature ranges from -60 to +200 °C and has a high elongation at break. You can also operate the LiQ 320 printing system with other liquid silicone materials, which generally have a viscosity between 10 and 180 PaS and different Shore hardnesses. Please contact us for more information.

Liquid Additive Manufacturing LiQ 320 Cartridges
Liquid Additive Manufacturing material Polyurethan

Polyurethane (PU)

With the LiQ 320, polyurethane can be processed in a liquid state for the first time using 3D printing. Since the material is processed at room temperature, the printing process is particularly energy-efficient. The shrinkage of the materials ranges from 1 – 2 %. Issues such as thermal distortion or detachment from the printing bed are thus a thing of the past.

Material für Liquid Additive Manufacturing

Die Materialien, die im Liquid Additive Manufacturing derzeit am häufigsten verwendet werden, sind Flüssigsilikonkautschuk (Liquid Silicone Rubber / LSR) und Polyurethan.

Beim Druck können die Infill-Optionen desselben Materials variiert werden. So ergeben sich zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, den Druck an den jeweiligen Anwendungsfall anzupassen und immer das beste Druckergebnis zu erzielen. So können, je nach Einstellung, weiche, flexible Druckobjekte oder harte, nicht biegsame Ergebnisse entstehen.

Von den verschiedenen Varianten des Silikonkautschuks bis hin zu harzähnlichem Polyurethan ergeben sich neue Chancen, die so mit keiner anderen Technologie möglich sind.

Sie interessieren Sich für ein anderes Material? Dann nehmen Sie Kontakt mit unseren Applikationsberatern auf! Schildern Sie uns einfach Ihren konkreten Anwendungsfall, damit wir prüfen können, wie wir Ihr Projekt am besten umsetzen können.

Liquid Silicone Rubber (LSR)

Liquid Silicone Rubber, zum Beispiel SILASTIC™ 3D 3335, ist ein Flüssigsilikonkautschuk, der thermisch vernetzt wird. Er enthält keine Acrylhärter und wird nicht UV-vernetzt. Die technischen Eigenschaften des Materials für Liquid Additive Manufacturing sind nahezu identisch zum Spritzguss. Der hochviskose Liquid Silicone Rubber wird insbesondere für additive Bauteile verwendet, die eine hohe Feinheit erfordern. Die Viskosität des Materials beträgt 130 – 170 Pas, ist jedoch nach Abschluss des Druckprozesses komplett ausgehärtet und sofort einsatzfähig. Es eignet sich für Temperaturbereiche von -60 bis +200 °C und hat eine hohe Bruchdehnung. Sie können das LiQ 320 Drucksystem auch mit weiteren Flüssigsilikonmaterialien betreiben, die i.d.R. eine Viskosität zwischen 10 und 180 PaS und unterschiedliche Shore-Härten haben. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen.

Liquid Additive Manufacturing LiQ 320 Cartridges
Liquid Additive Manufacturing material Polyurethan

Polyurethan (PU)

Polyurethan kann mit dem LiQ 320 erstmals in flüssigem Zustand per 3D-Druck verarbeitet werden. Da das Material bei Raumtemperatur verarbeitet wird, ist der Druckprozess besonders energieeffizient. Der Schwund der Materialien bewegt sich im Bereich von 1 – 2 %. Themen wie thermischer Verzug oder die Ablösung vom Druckbett gehören somit der Vergangenheit an.